PIEDMONT HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE OKLAHOMA SOFTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (June 9, 2023) — In its 38th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, Gatorade today announced **Karissa Fiegener** of **Piedmont High School** is the **2022-23 Gatorade Oklahoma Softball Player of the Year**. Fiegener is the first Gatorade Oklahoma Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from Piedmont High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Fiegener as Oklahoma's best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award to be announced in June, Fiegener joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners in 12 sports, including Jordyn Bahl (2020-21, Papillion-La Vista High School, Neb.), Megan Faraimo (2017-18, Cathedral Catholic High School, Calif.), Rachel Garcia (2014-15, Highland High School, Calif.) and Cat Osterman (2000-01, Cypress Springs High School, Texas).

The 6-foot senior shortstop led the Wildcats (40-3) to the 5A state championship this past season by way of a comefrom-behind, 5-3 victory over Coweta. Fiegener batted .431 with seven home runs and 41 RBI, posting a 1.263 OPS and swiping 18 bases. She hit .500 with two home runs during Piedmont's postseason run. The 2021-22 Gatorade Oklahoma Softball Player of the Year, she concluded her prep career as a three-time state champion as Piedmont won 132 times with her in uniform.

Fiegener has volunteered locally as part of various park upkeep projects and has also donated her time as a youth softball coach and instructor. "She's an amazing five-tool player," said Eisenhower High School head coach Terry Brierton. "Very high softball IQ, good team leader. I've heard nothing but good things about her. She can play and will play at the next level."

Fiegener has maintained a 3.92 weighted GPA in the classroom. She has signed a National Letter of Intent to play softball on scholarship at Oklahoma Christian University this fall.

The <u>Gatorade Player of the Year</u> program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which leverages experts including coaches, scouts, media and others as sources to help evaluate and determine the state winners in each sport.

Two-time winner Fiegener joins recent Gatorade Oklahoma Softball Players of the Year Emmy Guthrie (2020-21, Lone Grove High School), McKenzie Wagoner (2019-20, Newcastle High School), and Macy McAdoo (2018-19, Tuttle High School), among the state's list of former award winners.

Being a Gatorade Player of the Year means paying it forward for the next generation. Through Gatorade's Play it Forward initiative, every Player of the Year receives a grant to give to one of Gatorade's social impact partners, supporting Gatorade's ambition to fuel the future of sport. To date, Gatorade Player of the Year winners' grants have totaled more than \$3.5 million across more than 1,300 organizations.

For nearly 40 years, Gatorade has honored high school athletes at the top of their game as teammates, supporting their communities and achieving academic success. From CEOs and coaches to star athletes and community leaders, Gatorade Player of the Year winners showcase the power of sport.

To learn more about the Gatorade Player of the Year program, check out past winners or to nominate studentathletes, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com or follow us on social media on Facebook at <u>facebook.com/GatoradePOY</u>, Instagram at <u>instagram.com/Gatorade</u> and Twitter at <u>twitter.com/Gatorade</u>.