Contact: Kelsey Rhoney (312-729-3685)

CHAMPION HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE® OHIO SOFTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (June 4, 2018) — In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Megan Turner of Champion High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Ohio Softball Player of the Year. Turner is the first Gatorade Ohio Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from Champion High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Turner as Ohio's best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award announced in June, Turner joins an elite alumni association of past state softball award-winners, including Catherine Osterman (2000-01, Cy Spring High School, Texas), Kelsey Stewart (2009-10, Arkansas City High School, Kan.), Carley Hoover (2012-13 D.W. Daniel High School, S.C.), Jenna Lilley (2012-13, Hoover High School, Ohio), Morgan Zerkle (2012-13 Cabell Midland High School, W. Va.), and Rachel Garcia (2014-15, Highland High School, Calif.).

The 5-foot-9 senior shortstop had led the Golden Flashes (29-0) to the Division III state semifinals at the time of her selection. Turner batted .618 with 12 home runs, 54 RBI, 52 runs scored and three triples through 29 games. She also swiped eight bases in as many attempts, recording an on-base percentage of .706 and a slugging percentage of 1.250. A two-time All-Northeast Ohio selection, she has been a four-year varsity starter and a member of two state championship teams.

Also a basketball standout, Turner has volunteered locally with the Alliance for Substance Abuse Prevention as well as the Department of Elderly Affairs and the American Red Cross Blood Drive. In addition, she has donated her time at youth softball and basketball tournaments.

Turner has maintained a 3.96 GPA in the classroom. She has signed a National Letter of Intent to play softball on scholarship at Kent State University this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Turner joins recent Gatorade Ohio Softball Players of the Year Carly Wagers (2016-17, Williamsburg High School), Madi Huck (2015-16, Hayes High School), Tara Trainer (2014-15, Lebanon High School), Taran Alvelo (2013-14, Bloom-Carroll High School), Jenna Lilley (2012-13, Hoover High School), Kenzie Conrad (2011-12, Keystone High School), Erin Gabriel (2010-11 & 2009-10, Poland Seminary High School), Tess Sito (2008-09 & 2007-08, Elyria), and Jessica Simpson (2006-07, Hoover) among the state's list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Megan will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a \$1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional \$10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.