EAST ANCHORAGE HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE® ALASKA SOFTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (June 4, 2018) — In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Daisy Page of East Anchorage High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Alaska Softball Player of the Year. Page is the second Gatorade Alaska Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from East Anchorage High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Page as Alaska's best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award announced in June, Page joins an elite alumni association of past state softball award-winners, including Catherine Osterman (2000-01, Cy Spring High School, Texas), Kelsey Stewart (2009-10, Arkansas City High School, Kan.), Carley Hoover (2012-13 D.W. Daniel High School, S.C.), Jenna Lilley (2012-13, Hoover High School, Ohio), Morgan Zerkle (2012-13 Cabell Midland High School, W. Va.), and Rachel Garcia (2014-15, Highland High School, Calif.).

The 5-foot-9 senior right-handed pitcher and shortstop had led the Thunderbirds (28-0) to the Class 4A state tournament at the time of her selection. Page posted a 18-0 record with a 0.67 ERA in the circle through 28 games, striking out 120 batters and issuing just three walks through 84 innings. En route to East's unbeaten record, Page batted .726 (53-for-73) with 10 home runs, 53 RBI, 56 runs, 17 walks and a 1.384 slugging percentage. Also the 2015-16 Gatorade Alaska Softball Player of the Year, Page threw a perfect game this spring in leading the team to the Cook Inlet Conference title.

A two-time team captain who is a volleyball and basketball standout as well, Page has volunteered locally on behalf of youth softball programs.

Page has maintained a weighted 3.93 GPA in the classroom. She has signed a National Letter of Intent to play softball on scholarship at Mississippi Valley State University this fall.

The <u>Gatorade Player of the Year</u> program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Two-time winner Page joins Gatorade Alaska Softball Players of the Year Danni Desjarlais (2016-17, South Anchorage High School), Taria Page (2014-15 & 2013-14, East Anchorage High School), Pauline Tufi (2012-13, 2011-12 & 2010-11, West Anchorage High School), Brittany Fenumiai (2009-10 & 2008-09, Juneau-Douglas High School), Carrie Ann Laliberte (2007-08, Juneau-Douglas High School), and Joanna Schultz (2006-07, Chugiak High School) among the state's list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Daisy will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a \$1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional \$10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.