Contact: John Manzo (312-729-3656)

## MCPHERSON HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE® KANSAS GIRLS BASKETBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (March 13, 2017) — In its 32<sup>nd</sup> year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Taylor Robertson of McPherson High School as its 2016-17 Gatorade Kansas Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Robertson is the third Gatorade Kansas Girls Basketball Player of the Year to be chosen from McPherson High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Robertson as Kansas's best high school girls basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year award announced in March, Robertson joins an elite alumni association of past state girls basketball award-winners, including Maya Moore (2005-06, Collins Hill HS, Ga.), Rashanda McCants (2004-05, Asheville HS, N.C.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Diana Taurasi (1998-99 & 1999-00, Don Antonio Lugo HS, Calif.), Shyra Ely (1999-00, Ben Davis HS, Ind.) and Lisa Leslie (1988-89, Morningside HS, Calif.).

The 5-foot-9 junior guard had led the Bullpups to a 19-3 record and a berth in the Class 4A-1 state tournament at the time of her selection. Robertson averaged 23.8 points, 5.0 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 2.3 steals through 22 games. She is a two-time All-State and two-time First Team All-Conference honoree.

A devoted member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Robertson has volunteered locally on behalf of the Special Olympics, a community Thanksgiving dinner and youth basketball programs. "Robertson's basketball IQ is outstanding, and she makes everyone around her better," said Jordan Crawford head coach at El Dorado High. "She's the type of player you design a lot of junk defenses for, but she still gets it done. She can go for 30 points in the blink of an eye."

Robertson has maintained a 3.83 GPA in the classroom. She will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Robertson joins recent Gatorade Kansas Girls Basketball Players of the Year Kendrian Elliott (2015-16, Wichita South High School), Keiryn Swenson (2014-15, Maize High School), Kaylee Page (2013-14, Wamego High School), Katelyn Loecker (2012-13 & 2011-12, McPherson High School), Natalie Knight (2010-11, Olathe South High School), Tiffany Bias (2009-10, Andover Central), Taber Spani (2008-09, Metro Academy), Kendra Frazier (2007-08, Labette County High School), and Morgan Boyd (2006-07, Olathe East High School) among the state's list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Taylor will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a \$1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional \$10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit <a href="https://www.gatorade.com/poy">www.gatorade.com/poy</a>.