Contact: Matt Schiffman (312-729-3672)

BALDWIN-WOODVILLE HIGH SCHOOL HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® WISCONSIN SOFTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (June 5, 2014) — In its 29th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Abby Klopp of Baldwin-Woodville High School as its 2013-14 Gatorade Wisconsin Softball Player of the Year. Klopp is the first Gatorade Wisconsin Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from Baldwin-Woodville High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Klopp as Wisconsin's best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award announced in June, Klopp joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Alicia Hollowell (2000-01, Fairfield HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.), Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Angela Tincher (2002-03, James River HS, Va.) and Kenzie Fowler (2006-07, Canyon del Oro HS, Ariz.).

The 5-foot-6 senior right-handed pitcher owned a 20-1 record and a 0.24 ERA in the circle for the Blackhawks (20-1) at the time of her selection. Through 21 games, Klopp fanned 228 strikeouts and issued just eight walks in 115 innings pitched. The two-time returning Division 2 Player of the Year as named by the Wisconsin Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association, Klopp compiled a .540 batting average with 17 extra-base hits, 31 RBI and 32 runs scored entering the Division 2 sectional semifinals. She has led Baldwin-Woodville to three straight Division 2 state championship games, including the 2012 title during her sophomore campaign.

Klopp has maintained a 3.26 GPA in the classroom. In addition to donating her time as a youth softball and basketball instructor, she has volunteered locally on behalf of the Feed My Starving Children organization and as part of the annual Bowls for the Soul fundraiser to benefit her school's Backpack Buddies Program, which provides children from food-insecure homes with weekend meals during the school year. She has also served as a classroom teaching assistant.

"She is a standup kid and a top-notch player," said Matt Smith, head coach at rival Prescott High. "Her success and awards speak for themselves on the field, and her character and integrity is second to none also. She is a true ambassador of sportsmanship and is extremely humble in everything that she does. I have witnessed first-hand just how hard she works to continue to improve and is willing to make those around her better. She is truly a tremendous student-athlete that deserves any recognition she receives."

Klopp has signed a National Letter of Intent to play softball on scholarship at Indiana State University this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Klopp joins recent Gatorade Wisconsin Softball Players of the Year Nicole Newman (2012-13, La Follette High School), Kristen Wood (2011-12, Wilmot Union High School), Lauren Danner (2010-11, Kaukauna High School), McKinzie Freimuth (2009-10, Kaukauna), Claudia Harke (2008-09, Kimberly), Alyssa Roberts (2007-08, Bradford), and Stephanie Schmikla (2006-07, McFarland) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit www.gatorade.com/poy.