Contact: Jason Belenke (312-729-3631)

BISHOP HENDRICKEN HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE RHODE ISLAND BOYS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 16, 2014) — In its 29th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Colin Tierney of Bishop Hendricken High School as its 2013–14 Gatorade Rhode Island Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Tierney is the third Gatorade Rhode Island Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Bishop Hendricken High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Tierney as Rhode Island's best high school boys cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Tierney joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 6-foot senior distance runner raced to the state's open individual championship with a time of 15:49.01 this past season, leading the Hawks to a sixth consecutive state title as a team. A two-time First Team All-State selection as named by the Providence Journal and Rhode Island Track Coaches Association, Tierney also won the Class A championships in 15:32.24. He captured fifth place at the New England Cross Country Championships in 15:17.10, and then took 11th at the Nike Cross Nationals Northeast Regional championships in 16:01.8.

Tierney has maintained a 3.15 GPA in the classroom. A member of his school's peer ministry and mentoring initiatives, he volunteered on behalf of his church's youth group, The One Fund, the Special Olympics and the Making a Difference Foundation. He has also traveled on six service-mission trips along the Eastern seaboard.

"Colin continues to impress me every day with his intense work ethic and never-quit attitude in every race," said Bishop Hendricken head coach Jim Doyle. "I have never seen an athlete with his incredible determination and ability to accomplish his goals. He is a standout athlete who also is a student, a gentlemen and a friend to his teammates and competitors. He has amazing potential for greatness and he has the talent, attitude, will and work ethic to make good things happen in his college running career."

Tierney remains undecided upon a collegiate destination.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Tierney joins Gatorade Rhode Island Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Trevor Crawley (2012-13, Cumberland High School), Mike Marsella (2011-12, Chariho High School), Ryan Meehan (2010-11, Bishop Hendricken High School), Jake Sienko (2009-10, Bishop Hendricken), Andrew Springer (2008-09, Westerly), and Nick Ross (2007-08, East Greenwich) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit www.gatorade.com/poy.