Contact: Lauren Rollins (312-729-3607)

## TF RIGGS HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® SOUTH DAKOTA BOYS BASKETBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (March 21, 2013) — In its 28th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Zach Hanson of TF Riggs High School as its 2012-13 Gatorade South Dakota Boys Basketball Player of the Year. Hanson is the first Gatorade South Dakota Boys Basketball Player of the Year to be chosen from TF Riggs High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Hanson as South Dakota's best high school boys basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year award to be announced in March, Hanson joins an elite alumni association of past state boys basketball award winners, including Dwight Howard (2003-04, SW Atlanta Christian Academy, Ga.), Chauncey Billups (1993-94 & 1994-95, George Washington HS, Colo.), Jason Kidd (1991-92, St. Joseph Notre Dame HS, Calif.), Paul Pierce (1994-95, Inglewood HS, Calif.) and Chris Bosh (2001-02, Lincoln HS, Texas).

The 6-foot-9, 240-pound senior forward led the Governors to a 20-5 record and the Class AA state championship this past season. The state's returning Gatorade Boys Basketball Player of the Year, Hanson averaged 19.9 points, 8.3 rebounds and 1.5 blocks per game. A First Team All-State selection, he's also a three-time All-Conference performer.

Hanson has maintained a 3.14 GPA in the classroom. He has volunteered locally on behalf of a youth mentoring program.

"Hanson dominates in the middle," said Tim Buddenhagen, head coach at Huron High. "He's a really good rebounder on both ends, and plays solid defense. I think he's really stepped up his game, even over last year."

Hanson has signed a National Letter of Intent to play basketball on scholarship at Creighton University this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Two time winner Hanson joins Gatorade South Dakota Boys Basketball Players of the Year Zach Horstman (2010-11, Winner High School), Jared Hannigan (2009-10, Central), Tony Fiegen (2008-09, Madison High School), Louie Krogman (2007-08, White River High School), and Dale Moss (2006 - 07, Brandon Valley) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit <a href="https://www.gatorade.com/poy.">www.gatorade.com/poy.</a>