## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Contact: Adam Woullard (312-729-3627)

## CHANTILLY HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE VIRGINIA BOYS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 17, 2013) — In its 28<sup>th</sup> year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Sean McGorty of Chantilly High School as its 2012-13 Gatorade Virginia Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. McGorty is the first Gatorade Virginia Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Chantilly High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes McGorty as Virginia's best high school boys cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, McGorty joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 6-foot-3 senior raced to the Group AAA individual state championship this past season with a time of 14:47, leading the Chargers to the state title as a team. Also the state Runner of the Year as named by MileStat.com and The Washington Post's D.C. Metro Runner of the Year, McGorty won the Foot Locker South Regional championships in 14:28 and took second at the national Foot Locker Cross Country Championships in 15:05. He won all seven of his regular-season races by an average of 30.0 seconds, including a victory at the prestigious Great American Cross Country Festival, concluding his senior season unbeaten against Virginia competition.

Also a track standout, McGorty has maintained a 4.25 weighted GPA in the classroom. In addition to donating his time on behalf of the Chantilly Youth Association Track Program, he has served as a member of the National Honor Society, Business Honor Society, Future Business Leaders of America and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

"Sean displays a firm sense of sportsmanship," said Chantilly head coach Dr. Matt Gilchrist. "He tries his absolute hardest to compete at the highest level of competition, but does so with a sense of fair play and humility towards all of his fellow runners. He is a born leader and has helped his team raise their level of work and competition to heights not seen at our school in almost two decades."

McGorty has verbally committed to an athletic scholarship at Stanford University beginning this fall.

The <u>Gatorade Player of the Year</u> program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with <u>USA TODAY High School</u> <u>Sports</u>, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

McGorty joins Gatorade Virginia Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Ahmed Bile (2011-12 & 2010-11, Annandale High School), Kevin Dowd (2009-10, Fairfax), Thomas Porter (2008-09, Mountain View), and Jason Witt (2007-08, Midlothian) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit www.gatorade.com/poy.