FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Lauren Rollins (312-729-3607)

WATERTOWN HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® WISCONSIN FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (November 29, 2012) — In its 28th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Tarek Yaeggi of Watertown High School as its 2012-13 Gatorade Wisconsin Football Player of the Year. Yaeggi is the first Gatorade Wisconsin Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Watertown High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Yaeggi as Wisconsin's best high school football player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, Yaeggi joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 6-foot-3, 175-pound senior quarterback passed for 3,264 yards and 40 touchdowns this past season, leading the Goslings to the Division 2 quarterfinals. A 2011 First Team All-State selection, Yaeggi completed 218-of-361 passes (60 percent) while throwing 10 interceptions and leading the state in passing yardage per game (296.7).

Yaeggi has maintained a 3.51 GPA in the classroom. An active member of his church community and his school's International Club, he has volunteered locally as a youth mentor, a football and basketball camp counselor and established his own lawn care business.

"Tarek Yaeggi is an outstanding high school quarterback," said Hans Block, head coach at Burlington High. "He is very intelligent and sees things that other players his age do not recognize. He utilizes the strengths of his teammates and can beat you in many different ways."

Yaeggi remain undecided upon a collegiate destination.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Yaeggi joins recent Gatorade Wisconsin Football Players of the Year Vince Biegel (2011-12, Lincoln High School), Melvin Gordon (2010-11, Bradford High School), Eric Oertel (2009-10, Racine Lutheran), Ben Ericksen (2008-09, Greendale High School) and Mitch Sutton (2007-08, Stevens Point Area Senior) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.