Contact: Ashley Ginascol (312-729-3622)

LINCOLN HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® WISCONSIN FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (December 1, 2011) — In its 27th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes,, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPNHS, today announced Vince Biegel of Lincoln High School as its 2011-12 Gatorade Wisconsin Football Player of the Year. Biegel is the second Gatorade Wisconsin Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Lincoln High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Biegel as Wisconsin's best high school football player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, Biegel joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 6-foot-3, 225-pound senior linebacker amassed 172 tackles, 21 sacks and three interceptions this past season, leading the Red Rapids (12-2) to the Division 1 state final. A 2012 U.S. Army All-American, Biegel was selected as the 2011 Wisconsin Football Coaches Association Defensive Player of the Year.

Biegel has maintained a 3.12 GPA in the classroom. He has volunteered locally on behalf of multiple community service initiatives in association with his church youth group and as an elementary school guest reader.

"I have coached football for 20 years and Vince Biegel is the best linebacker I have seen in my coaching career," said Christopher Kujawa, head coach of rival Oshkosh High. "He runs, hits and covers better than any linebacker I have seen and he is a definite game-changer."

Biegel has verbally committed to play football on an athletic scholarship at the University of Wisconsin beginning in the fall of 2012.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPNHS and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Biegel joins recent Gatorade Wisconsin Football Players of the Year Melvin Gordon (2010-11, Bradford High School) Eric Oertel (2009-10, Racine Lutheran), Ben Ericksen (2008-09, Greendale High School) and Mitch Sutton (2007-08, Stevens Point Area Senior) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.