Contact: Ashley Ginascol (312-729-3622)

## MANDAN HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® NORTH DAKOTA FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (December 1, 2011) — In its 27<sup>th</sup> year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes,, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPNHS, today announced Devin Coyle of Mandan High School as its 2011-12 Gatorade North Dakota Football Player of the Year. Coyle is the first Gatorade North Dakota Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Mandan High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Coyle as North Dakota's best high school football player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, Coyle joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 5-foot-11, 170-pound senior quarterback passed for 1,525 yards and 18 touchdowns this past season, leading the Braves (9-2) to the Class AAA semifinals. Coyle completed 79 of 155 pass attempts, with just six interceptions, and rushed for 428 yards and eight touchdowns on 70 carries. A Second Team All-State selection in 2010, Coyle was named the Western Dakota Association Senior Athlete of the Year.

Coyle has maintained a 4.0 GPA in the classroom. He has volunteered locally on behalf of the Special Olympics, food drives for the needy and youth sports programs.

"Coyle is a dual-threat quarterback," said Vyrn Muir, head coach of rival Red River High. "He throws well, he runs well, he reads plays. He makes that team go."

Coyle remains undecided upon a collegiate destination.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPNHS and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Coyle joins recent Gatorade North Dakota Football Players of the Year Connor McGovern (2010-11, Shanley High School) Esley Thorton (2009-10, Bismarck), Brent Qvale (2008-09, Williston High School) and Josh Horner (2007-08, Fargo South) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.