FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Julie Mason (412-561-1014)

J.L. MANN ACADEMY STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® SOUTH CAROLINA SOFTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (June 9, 2010) — In its 25th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Leslie Jury of J.L. Mann Academy as its 2009-10 Gatorade South Carolina Softball Player of the Year. Jury is the first Gatorade South Carolina Softball Player of the Year to be chosen from J.L. Mann Academy.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Jury as South Carolina's best high school softball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Softball Player of the Year award announced in June, Jury joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Alicia Hollowell (2000-01, Fairfield HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.), Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Angela Tincher (2002-03, James River HS, Va.) and Kenzie Fowler (2006-07, Canyon del Oro HS, Ariz.).

The state's returning Gatorade Softball Player of the Year, Jury posted a 15-2 record with a 0.42 ERA and 189 strikeouts in 101 innings this past season, leading the Patriots (26-4) to their second consecutive Class 3A state championship. The 6-foot junior right-handed pitcher also batted .480 with 33 RBI. Jury is a four-time All-State selection and a five-time member of the All-Region team.

Jury has maintained an unweighted 3.45 GPA in the classroom. She has volunteered locally on behalf of the Salvation Army and toy donation drives for needy children.

"She could be starting for just about any college team right now," said Dana Fusetti, head coach of rival Wade Hampton High. "She just dominates the whole field."

Jury has verbally committed to play softball on scholarship at the University of Alabama and will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Jury joins recent Gatorade South Carolina Softball Players of the Year Stephanie Saylors (2007-08, Wren) and Casey Faile (2006-07, Andrew Jackson) among the state's list of former award winners.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.