## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Contact: Julie Mason (412-561-1014)

## FARGO SOUTH HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® NORTH DAKOTA GIRLS BASKETBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (March 11, 2010) — In its 25<sup>th</sup> year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Meghan Roehrich of Fargo South High School as its 2009-10 Gatorade North Dakota Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Roehrich is the first Gatorade North Dakota Girls Basketball Player of the Year to be chosen from Fargo South High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Roehrich as North Dakota's best high school girls basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year award announced in March, Roehrich joins an elite alumni association of past state girls basketball award-winners, including Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Diana Taurasi (1998-99 & 1999-00, Don Antonio Lugo HS, Calif.), Maya Moore (2005-06 Collins Hill HS, Ga.), Rashanda McCants (2004-05, Asheville HS, N.C.), Shyra Ely (1999-00, Ben Davis HS, Ind.) and Lisa Leslie (1988-89, Morningside HS, Calif.)

The 5-foot-10 junior guard has led Bruins (19-3) to the Eastern Dakota Conference title and the Class A state tournament, scheduled to begin March 11. Entering the postseason, Roehrich owned season averages of 23.1 points, seven rebounds, 4.5 assists and 3.8 steals per game. A two-time First Team All-State and First Team All-Conference selection, Roehrich scored a game-high 24 points in a 62-59 win over Fargo North High to give Fargo South its fifth consecutive conference championship.

Roehrich has maintained a 3.69 GPA in the classroom. A member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, she has volunteered locally as part of a fundraising campaign to benefit earthquake victims in Haiti and with the Special Olympics.

"I honestly believe that Roehrich is one of the top two or three high school basketball players in the entire state," said Fargo South High Head Coach Craig Flaagan. "There aren't many players I've seen who can put points on the board like she can."

Roehrich has verbally committed to play basketball on scholarship at the University of North Dakota beginning in the fall of 2011.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Roehrich joins recent Gatorade North Dakota Girls Basketball Players of the Year Kelsey Sigl (2008-09, Bismarck), Alex Feeney (2007-08, Bismarck), and Jessica Kielpinski (2006-07, Mandan) among the state's list of former award winners.

To celebrate the award's 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary, Gatorade wants you to vote for the All-Time Greatest Players of the Year at <u>gatorade.com/POY25</u>. To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit <u>playeroftheyear.gatorade.com</u>.