Contact: Julie Mason (412-561-1014)

PARKERS PRAIRIE HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE® MINNESOTA GIRLS BASKETBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (March 11, 2010) — In its 25th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Sari Noga of Parkers Prairie High School as its 2009-10 Gatorade Minnesota Girls Basketball Player of the Year. Noga is the first Gatorade Minnesota Girls Basketball Player of the Year to be chosen from Parkers Prairie High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court, distinguishes Noga as Minnesota's best high school girls basketball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year award announced in March, Noga joins an elite alumni association of past state girls basketball award-winners, including Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Diana Taurasi (1998-99 & 1999-00, Don Antonio Lugo HS, Calif.), Maya Moore (2005-06 Collins Hill HS, Ga.), Rashanda McCants (2004-05, Asheville HS, N.C.), Shyra Ely (1999-00, Ben Davis HS, Ind.) and Lisa Leslie (1988-89, Morningside HS, Calif.)

The 5-foot-10 senior guard averaged 24.8 points, 12.3 rebounds, 4.3 assists and 4.3 steals per game in leading the Panthers (25-2) to Tuesday's Class A sectional semifinals, where they defeated Hancock, 43-42, on the strength of 12 points, five rebounds and three assists from Noga. Parkers Prairie will face New York Mills in the sectional finals scheduled for March 12.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Noga joins recent Gatorade Minnesota Basketball Player of the Year Tayler Hill (2008-09 & 2007-08, Minneapolis South) and Janessa Wolff (2006-07, Park Rapids Area) among the state's list of former award winners.

To celebrate the award's 25th anniversary, Gatorade wants you to vote for the All-Time Greatest Players of the Year at gatorade.com/POY25. To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playerofthevear.gatorade.com.

###