Contact: Lauren Rollins (312-729-3607)

DAVIESS COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE KENTUCKY BOYS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 20, 2011) — In its 26th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Evan Ehrenheim of Daviess County High School as its 2010-11 Gatorade Kentucky Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Ehrenheim is the first Gatorade Kentucky Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Daviess County High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Ehrenheim as Kentucky's best high school boys cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Ehrenheim joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 5-foot-11, 125-pound senior raced to the Class AAA individual state championship this past season with a time of 16:16.7. The 2010 Kentucky Track and Cross Country Coaches Association Boys Cross Country Athlete of the Year, Ehrenheim also captured first place at the Greater Louisville Classic, breaking the tape in 15:44.24, and won the Fast Cats Classic in 15:32.

Ehrenheim has maintained a 4.0 GPA in the classroom. A member of the National Honor Society, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the treasurer of his school's Beta Club, he is a devoted parishioner in his church, where he has volunteered locally as part of multiple community service initiatives in association with its youth group.

"Cross country athletes are a cut above most people in terms of their discipline and Evan Ehrenheim is a cut above everyone else," said Bo Phelan, head coach of rival Apollo High. "No one works harder or puts more into what he does. You won't find a more respectful or respected young man."

Ehrenheim remains undecided upon a college destination.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Ehrenheim joins Gatorade Kentucky Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year two-time winner Ryan Eaton (2009-10 & 2008-09, Greenwood), and Gordy Dooley (2007-08, St. Henry District) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit playeroftheyear.gatorade.com.