Contact: Lauren Rollins (312-729-3607)

FARGO DAVIES HS STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE NORTH DAKOTA GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 13, 2011) — In its 26th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Tarin Lachowitzer of Fargo Davies HS as its 2010-11 Gatorade North Dakota Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year. Lachowitzer is the second Gatorade North Dakota Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Fargo Davies HS.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Lachowitzer as North Dakota's best high school girls cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Lachowitzer joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 5-foot-5 junior raced a second consecutive Class A individual state championship with a time of 14:43.3 this past season, leading the Eagles to their first state title as a team. The state's returning Gatorade Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year, Lachowitzer placed 15th at the Nike Cross Nationals Heartland Regional championships in 18:38.04. A four-time Class A First Team All-State selection as named by the North Dakota High School Coaches Association, she captured eighth place at the Roy Griak Invitational in Minnesota. Lachowitzer finished second at the 2008 Class A state meet as an eighth-grader and third at the 2007 Class A state meet as a seventh-grader.

Also a track and field standout, Lachowitzer has maintained a 3.95 GPA in the classroom. She has volunteered locally as part of the annual Fill the Dome youth-led food drive and as a fundraiser for area homeless on behalf of her church's youth group in addition to serving as statistics manager for her school's boys' basketball team.

"This has been by far her most influential season," said Fargo Davies High head coach Lisa Svaleson. "We're opening a new school, and we had 20 new girls on the team. We competed like crazy, and that has a lot to do with Tarin's recruiting. She did a tremendous job as the leader on the team. She was instrumental in making it fun for everybody and showing them how to work hard. I've never seen her work so hard, and she's always been a hard worker. At the state meet, she just owned it. She's such a great kid."

Lachowitzer will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Two-time winner Lachowitzer joins Gatorade North Dakota Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year Alissa Mears (2008-09, West Fargo), and Lindsay Anderson (2007-08, Leeds) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit player of the year, gatorade.com.