Contact: Lauren Rollins (312-729-3607)

## ST. ANDREW'S EPISCOPAL SCHOOL STANDOUT NAMED GATORADE MISSISSIPPI GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 13, 2011) — In its 26<sup>th</sup> year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPN RISE, today announced Elisabeth Gaillet of St. Andrew's Episcopal School as its 2010-11 Gatorade Mississippi Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year. Gaillet is the first Gatorade Mississippi Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from St. Andrew's Episcopal School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the racecourse, distinguishes Gaillet as Mississippi's best high school girls cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Gaillet joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Ryan Hall (1999-00, 2000-01, Big Bear HS, Calif.), Derek Jeter (1991-92, Kalamazoo HS, Mich.), Candace Parker (2001-02, Naperville Central HS, Ill.), Kevin Garnett (1992-93, Maudlin HS, S.C.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.) and Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.).

The 5-foot-4 sophomore raced to the Class 3A individual state championship this past season with a time of 15:31.9, leading the Saints to third place as a team. A four-time All-State qualifier, Gaillet placed 105th at the Nike Cross Nationals South Regional championships in 20:29.20. She also captured first place at the Southern Miss High School Invitational, Okatibbee Classic, Titan Invitational, Saint Andrew's Invitational and Starkville Invitational this past fall. Gaillet finished seventh at the 2009 Class 3A state meet as a freshman, eighth at the 2008 Class 2A state meet as an eighth-grader and 11th at the 2007 Class 2A state meet as a seventh-grader.

Gaillet has maintained a 3.05 GPA in the classroom. A member of her school's Chinese Club, she has volunteered locally on behalf of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, the Salvation Army, the Operation Shoestring community-outreach program and Community Animal Rescue & Adoption.

"She has the desire to become a phenomenal runner in her heart," said Saint Andrew's head coach Christi DeLaughter. "It's really fun to coach an athlete like that and to see her determination and training regimen this offseason. She went undefeated against Mississippi runners. She was determined to really make a difference—not that it came that easy. It's all due to her work ethic. That's what makes her so incredible. She's always been talented, but she didn't get to where she is without hard work and determination going for her goals."

Gaillet will begin her junior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by ESPN RISE and the Gatorade high school sports leadership team, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Gaillet joins Gatorade Mississippi Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year three-time winner Cory McGee (2007-08, 2008-09 & 2009-10, Pass Christian) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners, and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit player of the Year, visit player of the Year.