Contact: Kelsey Rhoney (312-729- 3685)

ANKENY HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE IOWA BOYS CROSS COUNTRY RUNNER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (February 12, 2018) — In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Tim Sindt of Ankeny High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Iowa Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Sindt is the first Gatorade Iowa Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Ankeny High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Sindt as Iowa's best high school boys cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Sindt joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Lukas Verzbicas (2010-11, 2009-10 Carl Sandburg, Orland Park, Ill.), Megan Goethals (2009-10, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Mich.), Jordan Hasay (2008-09, Mission College Prep., San Luis Obispo, Calif.), Donn Cabral (2007-08, Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury, Conn.) and Chris Derrick (2007-08, Neuqua Valley, Naperville, Ill.).

The 6-foot, 137-pound junior won the Class 4A state meet this past season with a time of 15:23.7, leading the Hawks to a 12th-place finish as a team. A two-time Elite All-State selection, Sindt won seven of nine races at 5K in 2017. He is one of three finalists for the Des Moines Register Cross-Country Athlete of the Year.

A member of the Ankeny High choir and band, Sindt has volunteered locally doing yard work for disabled neighbors and he has donated his time on behalf of multiple road races and triathlons. "Tim is mentally unshakable and carries with him a perfect blend of confidence and humility," said Jon Lindaman, head coach of Ankeny High. "When Tim stepped to the starting line this past season he knew without a doubt that he would be crossing the finish line first."

Sindt has maintained a 3.51 GPA in the classroom. He will begin his senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Sindt joins Gatorade Iowa Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Sam Schillinger (2016-17, Cedar Falls High School), Ryan Schweizer (2015-16, Dowling Catholic High School), Thomas Pollard (2014-15 & 2013-14, Gilbert High School), Jason Thomas (2012-13, Dowling Catholic High School), Ben Anderson (2011-12, Valley High School), Marshall Moyer (2010-11 & 2009-10, Burlington High School), Lewi Manirumva (2008-09, Washington), and Devin Allbaugh (2007-08, Pleasant Valley) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Sindt will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a \$1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional \$10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.