Contact: Kelsey Rhoney (312-729-3685)

HEBRON HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT-ATHLETE NAMED GATORADE TEXAS VOLLEYBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR

CHICAGO (January 16, 2018) — In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Adanna Rollins of Hebron High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Texas Volleyball Player of the Year. Rollins is the third Gatorade Texas Volleyball Player of the Year to be chosen from Hebron High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Rollins as Texas' best high school volleyball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year award to be announced in January, Rollins joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners in 12 sports, including USA Volleyball players Kayla Banwarth (2006-07, Wahlert HS, Iowa), Alisha Glass (2005-06, Leland Public HS, Mich.), Jordan Larson (2004-05, Logan View HS, Neb.) and Foluke Akinradewo (2004-05, St. Thomas HS, Fla.).

The 6-foot senior outside hitter led the Hawks to a 41-7 record and their second consecutive Class 6A state championship this past season. Rollins amassed 562 kills, 587 digs, 52 blocks and 49 service aces. A 2017-18 Under Armour First Team All-American, she was the The Dallas Morning News Player of the Year, the Class 6A state tournament MVP and was also named First Team All-American by MaxPreps and FloVolleyball.

A member of her school's Student Council, Rollins has volunteered locally on behalf of the Carrollton Public Library and youth volleyball programs. "Rollins is very explosive and dominating at the net," said Danielle Barker, head coach at Marcus High. "Not many players can match her talent and skill. It was pretty much impossible to stop her, or even to slow her down."

Rollins has maintained a 3.34 GPA in the classroom. She has signed a National Letter of Intent to play volleyball on scholarship at the University of Minnesota this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Rollins joins recent Gatorade Texas Volleyball Players of the Year Kylee McLaughlin (2016-17, Hebron High School), Morgyn Greer (2015-16, Dripping Springs High School), Alyssa Enneking (2014-15, Clear Falls High School), Courtney Eckenrode (2013-14, The Woodlands High School), Chiaka Ogbogu (2012-13, Coppell High School), Amy Neal (2011-12, Lake Travis High School), Tiffany Baker (2010-11, Hebron High School), Sara Shaw (2009-10, Westlake High School), Torri Campbell (2008-09, Amarillo High School) and Brianne Barker (2007-08, Amarillo High School) among the state's list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Rollins will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a \$1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional \$10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year.

To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit https://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.